Restaurants

My favorite local spots

I lived in Nashville for 18 years before I left for college, so I decided to compile a list of my favorite spots growing up! I wish I could go back to these more, but with all the new restaurants in town, it is hard to find the time.

Peter’s Sushi and Thai

photo (1)

First, lets take a moment of silence to admire how amazing that sushi looks. And yes, I did get slightly overzealous in my ordering, Peter’s has that effect on me. Peter’s Thai and Sushi is THE go-to sushi place in Brentwood, actually, lets be honest, it’s the best in the country. It is so incredibly fresh and impeccably delicious. Celebrities such as Nicole Kidman Keith Urban, Kristen Cavallari and Jay Cutler have been spotted at this sushi joint.  Since Peter’s is so popular, be ready to have a wait on any given night. The restaurant doesn’t take reservations, so be sure to get there early (it opens for dinner at 5 p.m.). I haven’t had a sushi roll I didn’t like at Peter’s, and its fried rice is pretty awesome too. My favorite menu items: Rainbow roll, Spicy tuna roll, Green dragon roll, and Yellow Tail or Salmon nigiri.

MAFIAoZA’s

Oh the things I could say about MAFIAoZA’s. Read my first blog post about love of the place here. It is such a local, fun and yummy restaurant that I could eat at just about every day and not get tired of.  No matter the type of pizza, you can’t go wrong with it. It’s on 12th Avenue South, so that makes me like the place even more. My favorite menu items: Margaritas (served in a mason jar, just precious…and strong), The Tony appetizer, Long Island Vacation pizza, The Greek pizza and The Santa Margherita pizza.

Cross Corner Bar and Grill

Also located in Brentwood, Cross Corner is the epitome of a local bar. Owned by a Florida fan, this eatery knows how to get sports fans in the door. They have pool tables, huge TV’s on every wall and a great menu to compliment its greatness. Laid back and local, just the way I like it. My favorite things menu items: all of the burgers, French Dip, Greek Pita and Sweet Potato Fries. 

Barbara’s Home Cookin’

My friend Hailey introduced me to this gem back in high school. It is a little house on Hillsboro Road that happens to be a kick-ass meat and three restaurant. The menu is written on a chalkboard daily.  It is one of those restaurants where you can taste the love that was put into each dish. My favorite menu items: Rolls (with honey), Fried chicken tenders, Mac and Cheese, Green Beans and Fried Okra.

McDougal’s Chicken Tenders and Wings

This is another fried chicken restaurant that I eat at when I’m feeling like an unhealthy meal. It is more “chain-like” than Barbara’s. McDougal’s is located in Hillsboro Village next to Zumi Sushi (written about in my previous post).  The cooks give you enough fries for the masses, but somehow I end up eating most of them myself (no shame). My favorite menu item: Small chicken basket with ranch dressing. The chicken is good both fried and grilled. It’s the only thing I have ever gotten there, and I’m not ready to change that quite yet.

Bosco’s Brewery

Bosco’s is a local micro-brewery with locations in Nashville and Hillsboro Village. (Fun fact: I was a hostess here in high school). It is one of those restaurants where you can get away with going in jeans or in a long dress. It has great thin-crust pizzas, seafood and pasta dishes. I highly recommend it. My favorite menu items: Gargonzola Pear Salad, Wood Oven Planked Salmon, any of the pizzas (Mediterranean and Margherita are my personal favorites) and the Bosco burger.

The Perch

The Perch has gourmet crepes, coffee and wine. Once again it is located in Brentwood. You can get anything from a savory breakfast crepe to a sweet dessert one. The best part is that you can go in the morning and get a crepe with some coffee, and come back after dinner for some sweets and wine! It is a little pricey, and can take a little bit to get your food, but it is worth it in the end! My favorite menu items: Peanut Butter & Banana Crepe and Nutella (obviously I am a sweets person, but I am dying to try their savory ones like the pear, arugula, blue cheese, caramelized walnut with balsamic crepe, or the red pepper, chicken, mozzarella with balsamic crepe. Can you say decadence?)

Merridee’s Breadbasket

Merridee’s is located in historic downtown Franklin. I love this area, and love this place. It is a bakery and coffee shop with amazing quiche, breakfast sandwiches, pies, cakes, cookies, you name it. It serves exceptional homemade fruit tea and you can buy loaves of bread here to take home with you. You can’t go wrong in a place like Merridee’s. My favorite menu items: Chicken Salad sandwich, Egg & Cheese biscuit, Chicken Quesadilla or any baked good

Pancake Pantry

My love for Pancake Pantry is endless. It is decadence at its finest. No fancy mimosas or fancy menu items, just some down home breakfast and pancakes. There is a reason why people stand in line (sometimes for hours) to get a taste of its pancakes. It is located in Hillsboro Village, right by Vanderbilt University. Vandy, Titans and Preds players have all been seen at the establishment, along with country stars. Get the pancakes and stay for the hashbrowns.  My favorite menu items: Sweet Potato pancakes, French Toast, Chocolate Chip pancakes or Blueberry pancakes. I usually get the small plate breakfast, which has a little bit of everything in just the right portions.

Loveless Cafe 

Like Pancake Pantry, Loveless is known for it’s great food and famous faces who have dined at the restaurant. It is located off the beaten path by the entrance to the Nachez Trace, but it is well worth the drive. It is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. I am ashamed to say that I have only been here for breakfast, though. You will DIE for their biscuits. The flaky, buttery, deliciousness will stay with you forever. The omelets are gigantic, french toast is superb and bacon is crispy and hot. The decor has a very homey-southern feel (it is in a house, after all), with pictures on the wall of celebrities who have dined at the restaurant. Outside you can walk around little shops, which used to be motel rooms. My favorite menu items: biscuits with homemade jam (obviously), Garden omelet, Waffle or French Toast with bacon.

One thought on “My favorite local spots

Leave a Reply

