Recipes

What I ate Wednesday

Yesterday (Wednesday) was a whirlwind. It was one of those days where you look at a clock and just want to ask it to stop for like 5 minutes. After my weekend full of crap-eating, I feel like I need a little detox. I use the word “detox” very loosely because when I read an article about a “3-day eating clean detox” or a “restart your body cleanse” my daily meals look exactly like theirs! It’s a little bit of a confidence boost when I realize I eat “detoxing” foods 99 percent of the time.

For breakfast yesterday, I whipped up some Quaker old-fashioned oatmeal, like I do on many cold mornings! I mixed a teaspoon of chia seeds, a teaspoon of flax seeds and about 2 tbsp of craisins into it. It’s one of those breakfasts that you can throw in a travel mug and take in the car with you! I always eat a banana on the side when I have oatmeal, I usually don’t eat one without the other. This breakfast kept me full until lunchtime.

I love salads, especially ones that are thrown together with random things in my fridge. This salad comprised kale, asparagus, tomatoes, red pepper, ham, goat cheese and balsamic vinaigrette. It was delicious!! I make my own dressings usually, just mixing balsamic vinegar, olive oil and pepper together. I usually just eyeball the amounts.

photo 1

After work I completed my 2nd day of half-marathon training. It was a struggle. I was so excited to go home and get my hands on spaghetti squash that I had been wanting to try! I am not a huge fan of pasta (all I can think when I see spaghetti is carbs, carbs and more carbs), so I was excited to give this a try.

(Recipe below)

Since I had never cooked spaghetti squash before, I used Martha Stewart’s recipe for roasting it.  While the squash was cooling, I sauteed the of garlic and butter in a large skillet. I added the asparagus, let it cook for about 5 minutes, then added the red pepper and herbs. I let it cook another 3-4 minutes, until red pepper was soft.

Spaghetti Squash

One of the most fun things about making the spaghetti squash was scooping out the “spaghetti”. Who knew a vegetable could shred like that! I mixed the squash into the veggies on the skillet, added the Parmesan cheese, and cooked it until it was melted.

Along with the spaghetti squash, I cooked a salmon burger. I buy mine from Costco. They are the perfect way to get your omega-3 fix in (ideally eat fish 3 times a week people). They only take 10 minutes on the stove! I usually season mine with cayenne, or an herb-mix.

Below is my final creation! I am still learning how to better use my camera…so bear with me on my pictures.

DSC_3084

Asparagus and Red Pepper Spaghetti Squash with Salmon

Makes about 2-3 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 clove garlic
  • Butter (I only used about a tsp. because I am not a big fan of butter)
  • 2 tsp rosemary,
  • 1 tsp thyme
  • 1 tbsp parsley
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 bunch of asparagus, cut into thirds
  • 1 red pepper, chopped
  • 1/3 cup Parmesan cheese
Leave a Reply

