What I Ate Wednesday

What I Ate Wednesday

Happy Hump day! I cannot believe it is already Wednesday. Sadly, I went through part of the day today thinking it was Thursday. So that’s depressing. Since it’s Wednesday, I feel like I should do a “What I Ate Wednesday” post. So…here is my super exciting food diary for the day.

I’m an omelet enthusiast. I eat one just about every morning. Recently, I bought egg whites at Costco and it was possibly the best purchase I have ever made at the store. Since I eat egg whites so often, I was spending a ridiculous amount of money buying cartons at the local grocery store. (I go through about two cartons a week…) I use either 1 egg and 2 egg whites or 3-4 egg whites in my omelets. I tend to throw whatever produce I have on hand into my omelet. It’s a great way to use up produce that may go bad soon. (You can only use veggies up so fast when living by yourself.) Today, my omelet was full of mushrooms, spinach, red pepper and goat cheese. I have been on a goat cheese kick lately. I just can’t get enough of it!

2.19 Omelet

As a mid-morning snack, I had a banana and some coffee. Coffee keeps me happy. And that’s important, especially when I found out it was a day earlier than I had originally thought.

For lunch, I made a black bean and chicken burrito bowl. I eat more black beans, corn, red pepper and avacado than any normal human probably should. But, I find the combination irresistible.  You can’t go wrong with a burrito bowl.

Burrito Bowl

Right after work, I had an appointment to see both an orthopedist and a physical therapist at my local running store, Fleet Feet. (If you are a runner and haven’t been, GO! Literally, run there.)

Just a little back story: I was on crutches and in boot this past winter for Plantar Fasciitis and Achilles Tendonitis. Then, before I even came out of the boot,  I decided I wanted to run the Country Music Half-Marathon this April (genius, right here). Fleet Feet spent time looking at the way I run, really listened to my running concerns, and helped me pick out the perfect shoes and insoles to help my foot problems. I can’t commend to this store enough for their help. Oh, and Matt was the employee who helped me. He’s awesome. Go see him.

Okay, sorry about that little tangent about Fleet Feet.  I just had to throw it in there.

So, since I knew I would have a late dinner, I ate an apple and PB2 as my late-afternoon snack (and I might have had a couple dark chocolate malted milk balls from The Peanut Shop, as well).

When I got home, I was starved! For dinner, I had my veggie turkey chili. Luckily, all I had to do was reheat it on the stove before I dug in! I tend to make a huge pot of soup or chili, and freeze it in individual serving baggies for nights like these.

Veggie Turkey Chili

So, that’s my day! Recipes for what I ate today will be posted soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

