Recipes

Chocolate Banana PB2 Protein Shake

Sometimes you just need a little protein boost. Most of the time I make sure to count my daily protein intake, because with all my training, I want to make sure I build muscle to become a stronger and faster runner.  And what better place to add it than dessert (I’ve had this for breakfast also…no shame).

Swapping out regular peanut butter for PB2 saves both calories and fat. I have started only using PB2 peanut butter for just about everything. It’s delicious, and great for smoothie additions! Also, adding light, vanilla soy milk adds flavor and makes the shake even more healthy. Today I ran 7 miles for my half marathon training. It felt amazing, and I finished it up with an hour of yoga. It was absolutely beautiful outside today, so I felt like I could run forever. Seven miles is the longest I have ever run, AND I ran my best time! So, I felt that I deserved a few extra chocolate chips as my reward 🙂

DSC_3081

Chocolate Banana PB2 Protein Shake

Makes 1 serving

Ingredients:

  • 1 scoop Chocolate Protein Powder

  • 2 tbsp PB2

  • 8 oz. light vanilla soy milk

  • 1 banana, frozen

  • Ice cubes

  • 1 tbsp. dark chocolate chips (optional)

Directions:

Blend all ingredients together and enjoy!

Nutrition (without chocolate chips): 373 calories, 42 grams protein, 23 grams sugar

Leave a Reply

