Recipes

Superfood Salmon Quinoa Salad

This post is a little delayed, but I have had so many requests for this recipe since I posted this picture on my Instagram! If you live in Nashville, you know how awful the ice was. I was stranded at a friends place from Sunday night to Monday afternoon because the roads were so bad! When I got back to my apartment, I just threw dinner together quickly. It turned out pretty delicious!

So, I decided to make a salmon quinoa salad with ingredients that I already had in my apartment. If you ever need to use up any type of produce, but don’t know quite what to put with it, go for quinoa. As most of the people reading this know, I am a lover of quinoa. It is a grain…but a vegetable in the same family as spinach…but has a large amount of protein. Confusing, right? You’ll have to look it up. All I know is that it is delicious and that it is a superfood.

I call this the superfood salad because it has salmon, quinoa, avocado, spiniach and chia seeds in it. Five of my favorite super foods. It keeps your body and your taste buds happy.

Also, I mention that I use salmon burgers in my recipe. These salmon burgers from Costco are my go-to dinner. They come in a package of 10 patties, and are delicious! I break them up and put them in salads (like this one) or eat them with veggies. I will say that they aren’t a substitute for a fresh fillet, but they work just fine for me! Gotta get those Omega-3’s in somehow.

I always eyeball amounts when I am just making a quick dinner, so feel free to change up the amount of paprika, salt and pepper you use. It all depends how seasoned you like your salmon.

IMG_4445

Salmon Quinoa Salad

Makes 2 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup dry quinoa
  • 2-3 cups spinach, raw
  • 2 salmon burgers (or fillets, if you have them)
  • Salt, pepper, paprika (for salmon seasoning)
  • 1 1/2 tbsp. olive oil (divided)
  • 2 plum tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp. chia seeds
  • 1/2 tbsp. balsamic vinegar
  • 1/4 cup feta cheese
  • 1 avocado

Directions:

  1. Rinse quinoa under cold water. Place quinoa and 1 cup of water, and in a medium pot over medium-high heat. Bring to a boil, reduce heat to low and simmer almost all water has evaporated (make sure it is still moist), about 10 minutes. Remove pot from heat. While still hot, mix spinach in with the quinoa, cover and set aside. Spinach should wilt in the meantime.
  2. Brush 1 tbsp. olive oil salmon and rub with salt, pepper and paprika. (Just eyeball it on how much you want.) Sear salmon on a non-stick skillet over medium heat, about 5 minutes per side. Break into bite-sized pieces.
  3. In a small bowl, mix garlic, chia seeds, balsamic vinegar and remaining ½ tbsp. olive oil together. Transfer quinoa into a large bowl. Add tomatoes, feta cheese, salmon, and olive oil mixture and mix well. Serve with sliced avocado on top.
Leave a Reply

