Restaurants

Sopapilla’s

This past weekend was absolutely beautiful in Nashville! On Sunday afternoon, my friend Hannah and I ventured to Sopapilla’s for a late lunch. The restaurant opened about 10 years ago in Franklin, near Cool Springs. The location is great, because it is not in the heart of Cool Springs (aka traffic) and is in between Brentwood and Franklin.

Sopapilla’s is nice “New Mexico” restaurant. According to the restaurant website, owner Steve Dale brings “a taste of what he grew up on in New Mexico and Arizona.” It is an upscale Mexican restaurant with a wide variety of dishes.

IMG_4749

 

The inside of the restaurant is very dark and sleek. You would never be able to tell that it was a Mexican restaurant by the decor. There is a great patio outside, but unfortunately, it was closed on Sunday because, according to the hostess, there weren’t enough waiters to cover it. We were bummed, because it was a warn/sunny Sunday afternoon and we wanted to lounge and have a margarita outside!

Speaking of drinks, Sopapilla’s has happy hour all day on Sundays! They have $5 house margaritas, and beer and wine specials as well.

We each ordered the Sopapilla Margarita. I got mine on the rocks with salt (always) and she ordered the frozen one. It is a generous size margarita! Mine was strong without the tequila overpowering the flavor. My friend’s margarita seemed a bit melted and was very foamy at the top, but she said she liked it regardless. The Sopapilla Margarita comprises 100% blue agave tequila, orange liqueur, fresh lime juice and organic agave nectar. I want to go back and try the restaurant’s blueberry pomegranate margarita as well, but they don’t offer happy hour specials on it.

IMG_4752

Something that took me by surprise at this restaurant was that chips and salsa were complimentary. I have found that to be rare when you go to a nice Mexican restaurant. I was very pleasantly surprised. My biggest piece of advice when you go to Sopapilla’s: order the queso. It is not your usual cheap white queso that actually isn’t cheese at all. This is authentic melted cheese with spices, corn and black beans as a garnish. It was so flavorful and had just the right level of spice. I have nothing but amazing things to say about this queso. I do have to say that my friend and I didn’t even make a dent in it. Two baskets of chips later and you could barely tell we ate any. It was huge!

IMG_4748

The prices for entrees are high, but reasonable for the amount of food you receive. The entrees are typically between $10 and $15, but we both took half of our meals home. (P.S. my leftovers were just as superb yesterday as in the restaurant.)

I had such a hard time choosing what to order. It took me about 20 minutes and five instances of telling myself I had made my decision to really decide what I wanted to order. Everything looked so good! I ended up ordering the Santa Fe Chicken Salad with a side of avocado. The salad is “a savory blend of spring mix lettuce, pico de gallo, corn, black beans, jack cheese and crispy tortilla strips tossed in a light cilantro citrus vinaigrette with tender slices of grilled chicken.”

I am not usually one to order a salad at a restaurant, but I just had to try it. I made the right choice ordering this salad. It is a chopped salad with a great combination of ingredients. The only problem I had was that even though I asked for my dressing on the side, they mixed it in. I am not a fan of salad dressing. Less is more to me when it comes to dressing, but luckily, I really liked the dressing on this salad.

IMG_4754

Hannah ordered the Tres Enchiladas. It was a combination of three enchiladas (beef, chicken and shrimp) with chili sauce on it, along with rice and beans. She substituted queso for the chili sauce.

We were stuffed by the end of our meal, but then our waiter informed us that with an entrée purchase, you get a free so papilla for dessert. Somehow, I made a little room in my stomach to try my first sopapilla. They were served warm, with honey on the side! I left feeling full and happy.

IMG_4756

Overall, Sopapilla’s is a great restaurant with great food. If you want to head south to Williamson County for a leisurely lunch or evening meal, I highly recommend you try Sopapilla’s!

Leave a Reply

