Uncategorized

Favorite Friday

I’ve been a little off of my game lately. Life got in the way, and I have just been too busy to post! My sincerest apologies. I have some great posts coming up, though, that I think ya’ll will really like!

Life has been busy. I have been working a lot and when I’m not, I have been spending all of my time outside! The weather has been beautiful in Nashville recently, and I am trying to soak up every second before it gets too hot.

Below is a picture I took while on a walk last weekend.

IMG_5162

Today is a “Favorite Friday” kind of day.

Things I’m loving lately:

1) Fitbit Zip

Since I work at a desk all day and haven’t been able to workout since my injuries, I thought it was time to start tracking doing a little something to track my exercise.

(Background story: my body is not made to run long distances. In March, about seven weeks into my half-marathon training, my shin splints turned into a stress fracture and I tore my hip flexor. Therefore, zero running/biking/hiking for this gal. It is SO HARD not being as active as I used to be. Going from running three miles a day to not being allowed to do any exercise for three months is extremely tough mentally and physically. I am going stir crazy.)

So, I bought a Fitbit about two weeks ago, and I LOVE it! I noticed how little I am walking during the day, so I make sure I take a long walk after dinner each night to get a little exercise. Right now, walking is the only physical activity that isn’t too painful, and the Fitbit helps me reach my goals each day. I highly recommend it to those wanting to track how much they walk throughout the day.

2) Quest bars

These protein bars seem to be the new “it” bar to eat among nutrition-loving folks like myself. It is hard to find a nutrition bar that’s not loaded with sugar or carbs. Quest bars are delicious and healthy too! There are SO many things you can make with them, also! When Quest sent me my first shipment, they sent along a recipe book as well, just in case I didn’t want to eat the bars plain. Genius marketing right there, folks.

IMG_5197

3) My Pinterest board

I know, I know, Pinterest is nothing new, but I revamped mine! I finally categorized my recipes and deleted old/outdated pins. Spring cleaning the OCD way. Check it out.

1

4) Healthy out-of-the-box desserts

IMG_5118I like to get creative with my desserts. Below are some desserts I’ve made lately! Can you tell I love dark chocolate?

  • Strawberries, dark chocolate chip quesadilla in a whole wheat tortilla
  • 1/4 cup old-fashioned oats mixed with 1 tbsp. PB2 and dark chocolate chips
  • Vanilla greek yogurt with 2 tbsp. PB2 and dark chocolate chips
  • Banana with 1 tsp honey and dark chocolate chips

IMG_5105

5) Farmers markets

It’s FINALLY farmers market season. I am so excited! That means fresh veggies and fruits from local farms, which in turn makes for much better recipes. I love getting to the market early on a Saturday morning and picking out the best produce. I have only been to the Franklin Farmers Market, but am looking forward to heading to all the different markets in Nashville this season.

Shop local, eat local.

IMG_5198

Enjoy your weekend!

Leave a Reply

