Restaurants

Frothy Monkey

I absolutely love early mornings. Even on weekends, I am up by 6 or 6:30 a.m. (not entirely by choice…the working life has just done that to me!) I am not complaining though; I have come to appreciate the sunrise and everything that comes with it.

Early morning walks are such great therapy. The cool morning air, fresh dew and quietness of the world are so amazing to me.

After my early morning walk, I decided to head over to Frothy Monkey in 12 South. I have always heard such great things about the place, so it was time I tried it out. I wanted a coffee shop where I could sit on a porch for hours on end, and enjoy some great coffee. Frothy Monkey was just the place!!

I arrived when they opened at 8 a.m., and didn’t leave until about 1 p.m. It was that relaxing. When I got there, I ordered an iced coffee and a parmesan garlic herb biscuit.

IMG_5153

The iced coffee was great but the biscuit really took my mid-morning snack to the next level (yes, 8 a.m. is midmorning to me). I have had “cheese” in a biscuit before, but never actual cheese. Let me explain. When ordering a cheese biscuit, I usually see pieces of cheese or taste a cheesy flavor, but never actually bite into gooey cheese. Well, at Frothy Monkey, the chef found a way to make the middle of the biscuit gooey cheese. It was divine. It took some serious will power not to order a second one….

IMG_5154

Around noon, I started getting hungry again. I had not planned to eat lunch there, but when you have a great book and your laptop, time just flies by! I ordered Frothy’s most popular sandwich, the Royale. The sandwich is usually served with chips and salsa, but I ordered a side of fruit instead. The Royale has smoked turkey, swiss, avocado, lettuce, tomato, and basil mayo and is served warm on toasted multi-grain bread. (P.S. sorry for the terrible picture! I had to move underneath the porch in the shade because it was so dang hot outside.)

IMG_5155 The sandwich was excellent, but I bet it would be even better in a wrap. (I heard a rumor that you can order any of their sandwiches as a wrap, but I haven’t tested it to see if it’s true!) There was a good amount of meat on the sandwich, which is always important. I love warm sandwiches!! The fruit was extremely fresh, like they cut it just for me.

I can’t wait to go back to Frothy Monkey to try the rest of the menu. P.S. did I mention the restaurant serves dinner, as well? It looks to have an excellent dinner menu that I can’t wait to try out! Frothy Monkey has four locations, including a brand new one in downtown Nashville I want to try them all, especially the downtown one, which is only a few blocks from my office! Needless to say, I think I found a new coffee shop to love 🙂

One thought on “Frothy Monkey

Leave a Reply

