Recipes

Homemade Flour Tortillas

IMG_5244

Tortillas are a staple in my kitchen. I use them for pizzas, wraps, dessert quesadillas, tortilla chips and tacos. They are so versatile!  

I wanted tacos for dinner tonight, but didn’t want to drive to the store to buy tortillas. So, I found this recipe on one of my favorite blogs, Table for Two. I chose this recipe because it didn’t call for lard or shortening. Normally, I would use whole wheat flour, but I am out at the moment and am trying to use up the last of my all-purpose flour. (I’m going to start using whole wheat for everything)

I have heard that once you make your own tortillas you will never purchase store-bought tortillas again. I now know what all the hype is about. These tortillas are SO delicious and fresh! I kept a few out and popped the rest in the freezer so I can use them on an as needed basis.

Tortillas are SO unbelievable easy to make. I didn’t roll mine out as thin as I probably should have, but they were great anyway! I hope ya’ll enjoy these tortillas as much as I am.

IMG_5236

Homemade Flour Tortillas

Makes about 16 tortillas

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • ⅓ cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup warm water

Directions:

  1. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the dough hook attachment, add the flour, salt and baking powder. Mix on low for 30 seconds.
  2. With the mixer running at medium speed, add the oil and warm water.
  3. Continue to mix on low until mixture starts to come together and starts to form a ball.
  4. Transfer the dough to a well-floured surface and divide dough until you get 16 portions
  5. Shape each portion into a ball then slightly flatten out the dough.
  6. Cover dough with a kitchen towel and let rest for 15-20 minutes.
  7. After dough has rested, heat a non-stick pan over medium heat.
  8. Roll each portion of dough into a 6-inch diameter circle with a lightly floured rolling pin. Do not stack uncooked tortillas on top of each other! (They will stick.)
  9. Once the pan is hot, place one dough circle in the middle of the pan and let cook for about one minute OR until the surface of the dough starts to bubble and the bottom starts to brown. At that point, flip it and cook the same way on the other side, but for slightly less time, 20-30 seconds. You want the tortilla soft and to have little brown spots on it. You don’t want to cook the tortilla too much that it becomes crispy.
  10. Place cooked tortillas on a plate. (You can stack them on top of each other to cool.)
  11. If you’re freezing them, wait until the tortillas are completely cool before storing.

Nutrition (for one tortilla): 120 calories, 4 g fat, 16.5 g carbs, 2.2 g protein

Leave a Reply

