Restaurants · Travel

Memorial Day Weekend Part 2: Hilton Head Island

Hilton Head Island is very close to my heart. My mother’s parents bought a house on the island about 25 years ago, so I have vacationed there since I was born. It is a home away from home for me. Sadly, my grandfather was at his house in Delaware during this trip, so we weren’t able to visit with him, but I am so happy we could use his house for the holiday weekend.

Immediately upon driving into Port Royal Plantation, where his house is, we drove to the beach and had happy hour. Cheers!
IMG_5382
We started the afternoon right, if you ask me! Saturday and Sunday were full of lounging at the beach and relaxing, other than the fact that my dad and I woke up at 6 a.m. each morning to go on 20 mile bike rides!

On Sunday night, we went to one of the best restaurants on the island, the Skull Creek Boathouse. The restaurant is always extremely packed, and this weekend was no exception. The Skull Creek Boathouse overlooks a marina and has extensive outdoor seating and a tiki bar. IMG_5391

We ordered margaritas and relaxed in the Adirondack chairs as we waited for our table.

IMG_5396

IMG_5400

Once seated, we ordered the Firecracker Roll, and chips and guacamole to share. The sushi roll had spicy shrimp tempura, avocado, tuna and crab salad on top. It is one of the best rolls I have had in a while.

IMG_5403

Next, I had the Green Goddess Caesar salad. Love that avocado!
IMG_5407

For the main course, my mom and I split the Chilled Seafood Tower and my dad had Cobia. The tower is exactly the way it sounds. A tower of boiled seafood.

IMG_5413

It had a whole lobster, mussels, clams, oysters, shrimp, crab claws and shrimp ceviche. Yeah, we didn’t realize how huge it would be! (or the fact that it was supposed to serve more than two people…of which our waiter failed to inform us).

Well, I can now say that I have successfully eaten my first oyster. Make that my first six oysters. When in Hilton Head, I guess? I also tried clams and mussels for the first time, but I like the oysters best. I really enjoyed the tower because I wasn’t tied to one type of seafood. I like trying all different kinds when I’m at the beach. Also, this was all boiled, so it wasn’t cooked in butter or other unhealthy additives. Major plus!

I had to include the picture below. I swear the whole restaurant turned around when they brought out this platter. Look at the man’s face behind me! 
IMG_5411

Of course, I also had to take a cheesy picture with the lobster head as well…

IMG_5415

It was a great night. And in case you are wondering, no, my mom and I didn’t finish it! There was way too much food.

On Memorial Day, we laid low and relaxed even more. For dinner, my parents had beef kabobs while I had leftover seafood. (I don’t eat red meat anymore.) I made a big fruit salad and corn on the cob as side dishes. 

IMG_5432

The corn recipe is from Damn Delicious. I highly recommend this recipe! I had never had Mexican corn on the cob before, but I can guarantee you that I will make this many more times.

IMG_5440

So, that was it! It was a fun weekend, but I guess you can’t stay on vacation forever. I hope your Memorial Day weekend was as excellent as mine was 🙂

Leave a Reply

